vital vegan

New focus | November 20, 2008

Hmmm. Ok, have been mostly focusing on baking lately, including Mexican wedding cookies for Los Gorditos’ all-vegan location grand opening (complete with menu I designed), cake with coconut and chocolate chips, and chocolate cake with peanut butter, coconut flakes and chocolate cake. The latter was made for a newly formed artist collective’s first meeting/potluck, which included a painting party (of canvases, not walls).

So that got me interested in art and design again. I guess I’m just going to share some of my favorite sites and try to remember some of the ones I used to look at nearly every day.

Newspaper design has always been a passion of mine, from typography to graphics to artwork to unexpected headline location to the the placement of articles in relation to all of the above. I know, I’m a nerd.

A few weeks ago, I went to the art museum for the first time. I stayed for hours, really staring at pieces and getting uber close, scaring some of the guards, in fact, because, well, I guess I had realized I’d been missing something. I missed beauty and skill and talent and inspiration, motivation, time and effort that produced amazingly complicated and detailed results. I really needed that. And now am hoping to incorporate more of that into my life. I’ve been stagnant, going through the motions for months now, and I think the election was just the thing to wake me up.

More to come…

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Vegan. Girl. Journalist. Designer. Sci-fi geek.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

